It started in 2005

The Star for Life project was born out of the belief that the future of the Southern African region lies in its youth. Dan and Christin Olofsson who ran a Safari Lodge in the province of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa saw first hand how young people, whose parents had died of aids, were growing up without parental guidance and support and felt compelled to do something to give them a better start in life.

The Star for Life method and program was piloted in mid-2005 in Siphosabadletshe High School. The program is based on the conviction that when we support young people to develop a healthy level of self-esteem and belief in their future, they will be inspired to perform well in several areas of life. In particular, they will realise the importance of taking responsibility for their sexuality and become active participants in the fight against the hiv/aids pandemic.

The positive response from learners and teachers motivated Dan and Christin to expand the program. By early 2007, the Star for Life program was launched in Namibia. Today it is being implemented with success in 120 schools in South Africa and Namibia.

Through the years Star for Life has established collaborations with influential partners who have financed the development of additional programs and projects. One of the long term projects is the Mobile Clinics – two in South Africa and one in Namibia. The Mobile Clinics give both the learners in the Star for Life schools as well as the surrounding communities increased access to health facilities and health education.

Evaluations show the Star for Life method has the biggest positive impact on girls in the poorest areas.

To read more about the results of our work, see our
Comprehensive Evaluation.

The Star for Life Boards

South Africa

  1. Mr Pierre Delvaux – Chair Person
  2. Mrs Ulrika Norberg
  3. Mr Anders Lindblad
  4. Mr Siphile Mdaka
  5. Mr Delani Mthembu
  6. Ms Doris Fulela


  1. Mr Anders Lindblad – Chair Person
  2. Dr. Cynthy Haihambo Ya – Otto
  3. Mrs. Thandeka Mabaso
  4. Mr Alistair Pitt
  5. Ms Aletta Eises-Tanises

Sweden – Foundation

  1. Mr Dan Olofsson
  2. Mr Alf Svensson
  3. Mr Anders Milton
  4. Mrs Viveka Urwitz
  5. Mr Anders Dahlvig
  6. Mrs Lena Hök